HomeEgg Facts I’m lactose intolerant. Can I still eat eggs?

I’m lactose intolerant. Can I still eat eggs?

Posted in : Egg Facts on by :

The milk of mammals is used to make dairy products, which are foods or beverages produced from the milk of cattle. For the past 100 years, USDA has classified eggs as meat and protein rather than dairy products. And in 1915, the National Dairy Council was formed with a goal of informing the public about “milk and milk products,” not eggs.

Eggs are produced by a female bird, reptile, fish, or invertebrate. (There are two Australian mammals that lay eggs but they’re the odd ones out; they also give milk to their young in very distinct ways, so let’s not dig too deep into it.)

In most cases, eggs mean the eggs of chickens. The majority of the time, when we speak about egg in our food supply, it refers to chicken eggs — and usually just to chicken eggs. Chicken eggs are not only a distinct form of nourishment from milk; they’re also from a separate species of animals.

Humans, on the other hand, create milk to feed their kids and birds lay eggs to nurture their young. There aren’t a lot of biological similarities between mammals and birds beyond the facts that they’re both animals and that they provide essential nutrients. In fact, eggs are more similar to meat than dairy products.

How Can I Explain to Others that Eggs Are Not Dairy?

You may direct someone to this post if you’re communicating with them online. In most situations, they will either read it and become more informed, or just stop talking because they don’t want to read anything. We’ll hope for the best, but at least the latter might prevent people from spreading misinformation.

When dealing with people in person, I limit my remarks to a few words. Here’s how I usually introduce myself.

Milk and eggs come from farms where animals are kept.

Some people just say, “Cows’ milk and chickens’ eggs,” which does assist individuals in recognizing the distinctions. However, it doesn’t relate either of them to dairy. Most people get it if I show them a picture of a dairy farm rather than a poultry farm and include the word “dairy.” However, please leave a comment below if you have an effective (and polite!) method of conveying the difference between milk and eggs.

Why Do Some Dairy-Free Products and Recipes Contain Eggs?

This is a question that frequently comes up, so I’d like to address it in some detail. Eggs aren’t dairy products. Egg-free goods and recipes are possible. Milk-free items and recipes are also available. People on a vegan diet who only follow the guidelines of their religion can and do eat eggs regularly.

Vegan products and recipes should be prepared without dairy or egg since vegans avoid consuming animal products. Milk and eggs are both animal-based, but there are significant differences between them. Milk, including its derivatives, is divided into two categories: dairy and non-dairy. To be clear, vegan items should be free of milk, however non-vegan goods are not necessarily dairy-free.

Contact the owner of the product or recipe if a product or recipe is labeled “vegan” but includes dairy. I’ve seen it happen with a food item, but only once in fifteen years. It’s happened to me several times with recipes. Keep in mind that it’s up to the consumer to determine what is suitable for their demands.

If I Have a Dairy Allergy, Can I Eat Eggs?

person holding butter knife and fork over cooked egg

In conversation, doctors sometimes mistake eggs for dairy. Make sure you communicate your food allergy test results and the foods to which you are allergic with your doctor.

If they did a milk allergy test, they almost certainly did an egg allergy test. As a result, you should get both tests back. If you’re allergic to milk but not eggs, the doctor will most likely allow you to eat eggs. But only you and your doctor can determine what is suitable for your personal needs.

If your doctor has you do an elimination diet test for food allergies, be sure to test milk and eggs separately. The majority of people with a milk allergy can consume eggs, but it’s conceivable to be allergic to both milk and eggs. Only by testing both of them may you determine whether or not you are allergic to either of them.

If I’m Lactose Intolerant, Can I Eat Eggs?

I’m not a doctor, but eggs don’t contain any lactose. Mammalian milk contains the sugar lactose.

Why Do People Confuse Eggs with Dairy?

You may find yourself in this scenario a lot. I assure you that if you live dairy-free, you will encounter this problem frequently. Dairy and egg items have been linked to each other quite a bit in the culinary and retail industries. Here are some key reasons why people might still confuse eggs with dairy.

In the past, many dairy farms also produced eggs. It isn’t as popular anymore, but many people used to buy local dairy eggs.

Eggs are generally kept in the dairy case, and milk products and eggs have long been seen as essentials in our culture. In the United States, milk products and eggs are both refrigerated. Customers don’t know where to look when they are looking for your specialty food items, so they have to go through the entire store in order to locate them. Location, location, location!

Milk, cheese, yogurt, and eggs are all common ingredients in photographs of “dairy products.” In fact, I couldn’t find a dairy products picture the other day because there were so many with eggs in it! As a result, photos with eggs in them may be found in many “dairy” tales that people may read.

I’ve heard a lot of people blame the food pyramid, yet the USDA’s official food pyramids from 1992 to 2010 class eggs with meat rather than milk. The MyPlate manuals from 2011 and 2012 go one step further by displaying “Dairy” distinct from “Protein.” Eggs are classified in the “Protein” category. Although eggs have never been labeled as dairy, they have actually been categorized as such. It’s just an annoying misconception that has spread throughout society as a result of basic observation.